March 1, 2022
March
1
3
,
2022
|
Conference

The Mathematics of Opportunity: Charting a Path to Equity

Hosted by
No items found.
The Mathematics of Opportunity: Charting a Path to Equity

In today’s data-rich, technology-enhanced world, math learning opportunities are central to the path to higher education and 21st-century careers. Math classes must serve as stepping stones rather than stopping points on students’ journeys. Ensuring that happens means, policies, practices, and perceptions must change to lower the systemic barriers that block some students’ paths forward, especially by race and gender.

To learn more about and support new strategies that enhance deeper learning and equitable outcomes, Just Equations held its fourth annual Mathematics of Opportunity conference on March 1-3, 2022. This free, virtual event featured Harvey Mudd College professor and PBS “NOVA Wonders” co-host Talithia Williams, speaking Power in Numbers: Unveiling Hidden Figures, about looking beyond traditional talent pools to recruit a new generation of STEM leaders.

Through a series of plenary sessions and interactive discussions, we continued conversations about how education systems, teachers, policymakers, and advocates can advance math education that enhances deeper learning and equitable outcomes. The conference explored topics such as: math education and the whole student, centering equity in data science education, calculus as a gateway to STEM for diverse learners, challenges and opportunities in implementing college math corequisites, and the role of college admissions in shaping math education.

March 1, 2022 11:00 AM
3 days
Free
Virtual
Free
Virtual
3 days
Schedule

March 1, 2022
11am PT / 2pm ET — 2pm PT / 5pm ET

March 2, 2022
10am PT / 1pm ET — 2pm PT / 5pm ET

March 3, 2022
10am PT / 1pm ET — 2:00pm PT / 5pm ET

Register

Highlight Video

Full Recording

Sessions

Panelists

No items found.

Resources

Sponsors

No items found.

Newsletter Sign-Up

For more insights on the role of math in ensuring educational equity, subscribe to Just Equations’ newsletter.

Opps!
Something went wrong while submitting the form. Please contact info@justequations.org about receiving our Newsletter.
Just Equations logo, transparent, white text.